For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

Security dialled up for critical, non-critical polling stations

Each zone would be headed by a Superintendent of Police (SP) and sector by a Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSP).
12:41 AM May 06, 2024 IST | SHABIR IBN YUSUF
security dialled up for critical  non critical polling stations
Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) personnel arrive at a polling station ahead of the second phase of lok sabha general elections 2019 in Srinagar. (representational Image) (File) Wednesday. (ANI Photo)

Srinagar, May 5: With the Lok Sabha elections for the Srinagar parliamentary constituency around the corner, security arrangements are being intensified at the polling stations.


This time, the authorities have divided the polling stations in Kashmir into two categories: critical and non-critical.


“For critical polling stations, which are deemed to be at higher risk, a comprehensive security plan has already been devised,” a senior Police officer said. “Each critical polling station will be guarded by 12 to 15 security personnel from the J&K Police and paramilitary forces.”

He said that these personnel would be responsible for ensuring the safety and security of voters and poll staff on election day.


To manage the security at these polling stations, the areas have been divided into zones and sectors. Each zone would be headed by a Superintendent of Police (SP) and sector by a Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSP).


This hierarchical arrangement aims to ensure effective coordination and swift response in case of any security threats or untoward incidents.


“All necessary measures are being taken to conduct the elections smoothly and safely,” the officer said.


“We are hopeful that people will cooperate with the security forces and adhere to the guidelines issued for the election process.”

He said that the administration was diligently implementing all necessary security measures in compliance with the guidelines of the Election Commission of India (ECI).

The officer called for the utmost importance of enforcing stringent security measures to uphold the sanctity of the electoral process.

He said police officials had been directed to maintain unwavering vigilance and ensure a secure environment throughout the election period.

Over 1.7 million voters would cast votes in the Srinagar parliamentary constituency.

The polling for the constituency is scheduled for May 13, 2024 (Monday) from 7 am to 6 pm.

To accommodate this number of voters, the ECI has set up 2135 polling stations at 1323 designated locations across all 18 assembly segments of the constituency.

This includes 260 polling stations in two assembly segments of Ganderbal district, 929 polling stations in eight assembly segments of Srinagar district, 345 polling stations in three assembly segments of Budgam district, 479 polling stations in four assembly segments of Pulwama district, and 122 polling stations in one assembly segment of Shopian district.

In addition to the regular polling stations, model polling stations have been established at various locations across the parliamentary constituency.

These model polling stations aim to provide a festive environment to the voters and enhance their voting experience.

The facilities at these model polling stations include clean drinking water and ramps for Persons with Disabilities (PWDs).