For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

Polling teams of 7 ACs of Rajouri, Poonch reach their destinations ahead of today’s Lok Sabha elections

12:00 AM May 25, 2024 IST | Sumit Bhargav
polling teams of 7 acs of rajouri  poonch reach their destinations ahead of today’s lok sabha elections

Rajouri, May 24: All 1012 polling parties meant for the polling stations of seven assembly constituencies in Rajouri and Poonch districts where voting for 6th phase of Lok Sabha elections will be conducted on Saturday have reached their polling stations.


Four out of five assembly constituencies of Rajouri district and all three assembly constituencies of Poonch fall under Anantnag Rajouri Parliament seat where voting is scheduled on Saturday under the sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections.


In Rajouri, officials said, 542 polling stations have been established and 538 polling parties will conduct votings there and these polling parties along with polling material were today dispatched to different polling stations across Rajouri, Thanamandi, Nowshera and Budhal Assembly constituencies.


Amidst tight security, the polling staff and other logistics left from their respective dispatch centres marking a crucial step in the polling process for Lok Sabha Elections 2024 in the Rajouri, Thanamandi, Nowshera and Budhal Assembly constituencies, officials said.


District Election Officer, Om Prakash Bhagat visited all the dispatch centres and took stock of the dispatch process, marking a significant logistical feat of the district administration, security personnel, and election officials.


The District Election Officer expressed satisfaction over the arrangements made for the Lok Sabha Elections 2024.


Deputy Commissioner Rajouri (DEO), Bhagat, said that elaborate security arrangements have been put in place in the district for smooth conduct of elections.


"To ensure the safety and security of the polling parties and the polling material, stringent security measures have been put in place," he said, adding that deployment of adequate security personnel will ensure a secure environment for the polling parties to carry out their duties without any hindrance.

The 4 Assembly Constituencies have 389721 voters, including 202809 males, 186905 females and 7 transgender. Of the total of 542 polling stations, 278 have been identified as sensitive.

Meanwhile, the District Election Officer undertook a comprehensive visit to review the election preparations in Nowshera subdivision. He was accompanied by the Additional Deputy Commissioner Nowshera, Babu Ram Tandan.

The visit of the District Election Officer encompassed multiple polling stations.

Among the notable highlights of the visit was the inspection of the pink polling station at Nowshera, staffed exclusively by women. The DEO meticulously reviewed the preparations undertaken thus far and provided directives to the election staff to ensure the smooth, free, and fair conduct of elections across the district.

Similarly, in Poonch district also, all the polling parties left for their polling stations and reached their respective stations when last reports were received.

"One among the four remotest and historic polling stations with a long trek lies in Zone 4 of Sector 17 (Marhote-2)." The Poonch administration informed that the polling party along with security forces left on Thursday for an intermediate strong room established at Dak Bunglow Kulali.

"The polling party started marching towards Hill kaka polling station on Friday and have reached the destination," said officials.

Polling parties for all 473 rest polling stations in the district were dispatched on Friday morning under tight security cover and all these parties have reached their destinations.

District Election Officer Poonch, Yasin M. Choudhary and SSP Poonch Youghal Manhas flagged off poll and EVM parties for various polling stations of the district.