For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

PM Modi casts his vote during third phase of Lok Sabha elections in Ahmedabad

Today marks the commencement of the third phase of the seven-phase parliamentary elections across India.
09:21 AM May 07, 2024 IST | GK NEWS SERVICE
pm modi casts his vote during third phase of lok sabha elections in ahmedabad
PM Modi casts vote in Ahmedabad in the third phase of Lok Sabha polls on Tuesday. Source: X/NarendraModi

New Delhi, May 07: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday cast his vote at Nishan Higher Secondary School in Ahmedabad, Gujarat for the third phase of the Lok Sabha elections.


Encouraging citizens to join him in the democratic process, he emphasized the importance of active involvement in shaping the nation's future.


Today marks the commencement of the third phase of the seven-phase parliamentary elections across India. Polling began at 7 am, covering 93 constituencies spanning 11 states and Union Territories.


Prime Minister Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah, contributed to this democratic exercise by casting their votes.


This phase witnesses several high-profile contests, including Union Home Minister Amit Shah seeking re-election from Gujarat's Gandhinagar constituency.


Other prominent candidates vying for electoral success include union ministers Jyotiraditya Scindia, Mansukh Mandaviya, and Pralhad Joshi, contesting from Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, and Karnataka respectively.


The electoral landscape is also marked by intriguing battles, such as the one in Maharashtra's Baramati, where Supriya Sule, daughter of NCP founder Sharad Pawar, faces off against Sunetra Pawar, wife of Maharashtra Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar.


For the Yadav family in Uttar Pradesh, this phase holds significance, with three family members contesting, including Dimple Yadav, wife of Akhilesh Yadav, and Aditya Yadav, son of Shivpal Yadav, making his electoral debut.

Overall, 1351 candidates are in contention across these 93 constituencies, with a staggering 17.24 crore eligible voters, including 8.39 crore females.

The states and Union Territories participating include Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, Goa, Gujarat, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal.

Earlier, the BJP secured the Surat seat unopposed, while elections for the Anantnag-Poonch-Rajouri Constituency in Jammu and Kashmir were postponed to May 25 by the election commission.

Meanwhile, in Madhya Pradesh, the scorching heat poses a challenge to voter turnout, particularly impacting high-profile candidates like Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Jyotiraditya Scindia, and Digvijaya Singh as they contest critical seats.

In Gujarat, the fate of 266 candidates for the remaining 25 parliamentary and five Assembly constituencies in Gujarat lies in the hands of over 4.9 crore voters, emphasizing the gravity of this electoral phase in shaping the nation's political landscape.

Tags :