For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

New Govt Formation | PM Modi’s swearing-in on June 9

To be 2nd Indian to become PM for 3 straight terms
new govt formation   pm modi’s swearing in on june 9
File: ANI

New Delhi, June 6: Prime Minister Narendra Modi is set to be sworn in for his third consecutive term on June 9, making him the second person in India's history to achieve this milestone.


Thursday saw a flurry of political activity in New Delhi, with leaders from the NDA and the INDIA alliances converging in the capital.


The day was marked by a stream of congratulatory messages to Prime Minister Modi from across the globe from top leaders like President Biden from the US, President Putin from Russia, France, Australia, UAE and several other developed countries, South Asian and West Asian country leaders, from the African continent and many others including international organisations for his electoral victory and government formation.


Initially planned for June 8, the swearing-in ceremony has been rescheduled to June 9 evening, pending official confirmation.


PM Modi has extended invitations to several SAARC and neighbouring country leaders to attend his swearing-in ceremony, including Sri Lankan President Ranil Wickremesinghe, Bangladeshi Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, Maldives President Mohamed Muizzu, Nepal Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal 'Prachanda', Bhutan's Tshering Tobgay, and Mauritius Prime Minister Pravind Jugnauth. Leaders from the Gulf and Central Asia have also been invited, with some confirming their participation.


Inviting regional leaders to his oath ceremonies is a tradition for PM Modi. In 2014, he asked all SAARC heads of state, and in 2019, leaders from BIMSTEC countries, Mauritius, and Kyrgyzstan attended.


On Wednesday, Prime Minister Modi submitted his resignation to President Droupadi Murmu in preparation for the swearing-in. The President accepted his resignation and that of his council of ministers, requesting them to continue until the new government is formed.


The Election Commission of India has met with President Droupadi Murmu and submitted the list of newly elected Lok Sabha members. Following this, Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar, along with Election Commissioners Gyanesh Kumar and Sukhbir Singh Sandhu, paid tribute to Mahatma Gandhi at Rajghat.

The Election Commission announced that the model code of conduct, which was enforced on March 16 with the declaration of the Lok Sabha election, is no longer in effect. This decision follows the official declaration of results for the Lok Sabha elections and assembly polls in various states, including Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim, Odisha, and Andhra Pradesh, as well as some assembly by-polls.

In a statement to the Union Cabinet Secretary and the chief secretaries of all states, the Election Commission said, "The model code of conduct has ceased to be in operation with immediate effect." This communication indicates that the restrictions and guidelines imposed during the election period have been lifted, allowing the government and political parties to resume their normal activities.

On Wednesday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi was unanimously chosen by NDA members during a crucial conference in Delhi to lead the party. The resolution designating PM Modi as the leader of the coalition was signed by the NDA parties, including JD(U)'s Nitish Kumar and TDP leader Chandrababu Naidu. After officially electing PM Modi as their leader at their June 7 meeting, the NDA MPs will present their letters of support to the President.

Both the Congress-led INDIA alliance and the BJP-led NDA were engaged in intense negotiations and key meetings today.

At the residence of BJP President JP Nadda, a series of meetings took place as preparations for the oath ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan continued.

BJP leaders Amit Shah and Rajnath Singh met with Nadda to finalise plans. In the evening Amit Shah and JP Nadda were seen visiting the Prime minister's residence.

All BJP MPs and Chief Ministers have been summoned to Delhi for a meeting at 10:30 a.m. on Friday. Also, all NDA members of the parliamentarians will be in New Delhi tomorrow.

In related developments, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) leader Chandrababu Naidu, who was expected to be sworn in as Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister on Sunday, will now take his oath on June 12. Naidu will arrive in Delhi around noon with his newly elected MPs. Several BJP leaders, including Modi, are expected to attend Naidu's swearing-in ceremony.

The 18th Lok Sabha will feature approximately 280 newly elected MPs, an increase from the 267 first-time MPs in 2019. Of these, 263 have prior experience in the Lok Sabha, and 16 have served in the Rajya Sabha. One MP has seven terms in the Lok Sabha. According to PRS Legislative Research, eight re-elected MPs contested from different constituencies, with one MP winning from two constituencies in the recent elections.

Just ahead of the oath ceremony and cabinet portfolio distribution, JD(U) spokesperson KC Tyagi expressed concerns about the Agniveer scheme, stating, "Certain voters are dissatisfied with aspects of the scheme. Our party seeks thorough discussions to address public concerns and rectify any shortcomings."

Regarding the Uniform Civil Code (UCC), Tyagi clarified the party's stance, asserting, "As the national president, the CM wrote to the Law Commission chief. We are not opposed to the UCC but believe in seeking consensus through dialogue with all stakeholders."

Meanwhile, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) spokesperson stated in Andhra Pradesh, "We have requested six portfolios; however, they are negotiable and are not demand."