For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

LS Polls-2024 | Ladakh to vote today

01:48 AM May 20, 2024 IST | Irfan Raina
ls polls 2024   ladakh to vote today

Kargil, May 19: The Ladakh parliamentary constituency, the largest in the country in terms of area, is all set to vote in the fifth phase of the ongoing parliamentary polls on Monday.


The Election Commission of India (ECI), Chief Electoral Officer Ladakh, and the district election authorities have made all the necessary arrangements for the smooth and transparent polling process in the Ladakh parliamentary constituency.


This Lok Sabha seat has over 1.84 lakh voters, of which a majority of 95,926 electorates are in the Kargil district and 88,877 are in the Leh district.


Three candidates are in the fray including BJP’s Tashi Gyalson, Congress’ Tsering Namgyal, and independent candidate Hanifa Jan.


Deputy Commissioner (DC) Leh, Santosh Sukhadeve, who is also the Returning officer for the 01-Ladakh parliamentary constituency, told Greater Kashmir that all arrangements were in place.


“The polling parties have been already dispatched to remote polling stations while the rest of the staff reached their respective locations on Sunday,” he said.


Sukhadeve said Ladakh has 577 polling stations including 298 in Leh district and 279 in Kargil district.


“In Leh, there are 298 polling stations of which 87 are critical while 75 are pink polling stations specifically for women and 10 model polling stations besides two unique polling stations,” he said. “All the arrangements have been made.”

Sukhadeve said that Hanle Phu, a polling station in Leh district, is located at the height of 15,000 feet above sea level and is the world’s second-highest polling station.

He said Warshi, a polling station in Nubra area of Leh district has been set up for only five electors, all members of a single family.

Sukhadeve in a message to the voters in Ladakh urged them to come out in large numbers and exercise their franchise.

Superintendent of Police (SP) Leh, Shruti Arora said that all the necessary arrangements for security had been made.

She said the Ladakh Police along with the deployed CAPF companies would ensure a smooth and hassle-free experience for voters and ensure maintaining law and order.

Deputy Commissioner (DC) Kargil Shrikant Suse, who is also the District Election Officer Kargil, told Greater Kashmir that to ensure fair and transparent voting, district election authorities and Police in Kargil had made elaborate arrangements.

“Webcasting will be done at 140 polling stations including 118 critical polling stations on the poll day to monitor the poll process,” he said.  “In Kargil district, 10 polling stations would be model polling stations, four polling stations would be managed by women polling personnel, and a polling station by PwD officials.”

Meanwhile, the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Ladakh, Yetindra M Maralkar, conducted a comprehensive visit to several polling stations across Leh.

During the visit, the CEO reviewed the facilities and arrangements at these polling stations to ensure a smooth and efficient voting process.