For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

58 LS seats across 8 states, UTs set for nationwide polls

58 ls seats across 8 states  uts set for nationwide polls
Representational Image

New Delhi, May 24: As summer temperatures soar across the country, including in Delhi, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, and Bihar, the Election Commission of India (ECI) is fully prepared for Phase 6 of the Lok Sabha elections, which starts on Saturday.


Polling will take place in 58 Parliamentary Constituencies (PCs) across eight States and Union Territories (UTs).


This phase will see Haryana and the National Capital Territory (NCT) of Delhi heading to the polls, along with Bihar, Jharkhand, Jammu and Kashmir, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal.


Additionally, voters in Odisha will also elect representatives for 42 assembly constituencies for the State Legislative Assembly simultaneously.


The Chief Electoral Officers (CEOs) and state election machinery have been instructed to implement adequate measures to mitigate the adverse effects of hot weather or predicted rainfall.


Polling stations are equipped to welcome voters with amenities like ample shade, drinking water, ramps, toilets, and other basic facilities to ensure a comfortable and secure voting environment.


Polling parties have been dispatched with the necessary machines and materials to their designated stations.


The ECI has urged the voters to turn out in large numbers and cast their votes responsibly and proudly.

Urban voters in areas like Delhi, Gurgaon, and Faridabad have particularly been encouraged to participate and counteract the trend of urban voter apathy.

The sixth phase includes 49 general seats, two Scheduled Tribes (ST) seats, and seven Scheduled Castes (SC) seats.

Concurrently, 42 assembly constituencies of the Odisha Legislative Assembly comprising 31 general seats, 5 ST seats, and 6 SC seats will also go to the polls.

Phase 6 involves around 11.4 lakh polling officials who will facilitate the voting process for over 11.13 crore registered voters across approximately 1.14 lakh polling stations.

The electorate comprises 5.84 crore males, 5.29 crore females, and 5,120 third-gender voters.

Special provisions have been made for elderly persons and PwDs.

Over 8.93 lakh voters aged 85 and above, 23,659 voters aged 100 and above, and 9.58 lakh PwD voters have the option to vote from home.

This home voting facility has been well-received and appreciated.

To ensure the smooth conduct of the elections, 20 special trains have been deployed to transport security personnel.

The ECI has also deployed 184 observers - including 66 General Observers, 35 Police Observers, and 83 Expenditure Observers- who arrived at their respective constituencies well in advance to maintain vigilance. Additionally, special observers have been appointed in certain states to reinforce this effort.

Voter inducement is a significant concern, and the ECI has deployed 2222 Flying Squads, 2295 Static Surveillance Teams, 819 Video Surveillance Teams, and 569 Video Viewing Teams to monitor and prevent any such activities.

Furthermore, 257 international border check posts and 927 inter-state border check posts are actively monitoring the flow of illicit items such as liquor, drugs, cash, and freebies.

This surveillance extends to sea and air routes to ensure comprehensive coverage.

For identity verification at polling stations, the commission has authorised 12 alternative documents besides the Voter ID card (EPIC).

Registered voters can present any of these documents to cast their vote.

Detailed information about these alternative identification documents is available on the Election Commission's website.

The final phase, Phase 7, will be held on June 1 for the remaining 57 parliamentary constituencies, with the counting of votes scheduled for June 4.

The first five phases of the General Elections saw peaceful and smooth polling across 25 States and UTs and 428 parliamentary constituencies.